Skip to Content

Business School History: 1970-1979


To date, more than 2,000 baccalaureate degrees have been awarded by the School of Industrial Management. An economics major for undergraduates is established in the school. Beta Gamma Sigma, a national business honorary, is installed on May 20.


Arthur J. Hansen becomes Purdue University's eighth president on July 1st. Associate professor Charles A. Tritschler is director of the master's programs. Peter V. Harrington is appointed director of Economics Education Projects for the Purdue Economic Advisory Council, later reorganized as the Indiana Council for Economic Education.


Herman C. Krannert

Herman C. Krannert (right) dies at the age of 84.

In cooperation with the West Lafayette faculty, the Purdue University-Calumet campus receives approval to confer the Master of Science degree in management.

Richard S. Walbaum becomes the assistant dean for undergraduate administration.

The Best Graduate Instructor Award is initiated. Wide ties and colored shirts have replaced the dark suits and narrow ties worn by more than a decade of master's students, but the days of the Krannert dress code are numbered.

Supporting industries and corporations are invited to become Associates of the Krannert School. "It seemed most appropriate on the tenth anniversary of the founding of the Krannert Graduate School of Industrial Administration," Dean John Day writes a year later in the first annual report, "that we announce the commencement of the Associates Program." During fiscal 1973, income received from Associates totals $57,500. Their contributions are used largely to support the Business Opportunity Program for minority students and fellowships for master's students, and 31 firms or their foundations become the first Krannert Associates.


The Master of Science in Management program replaces the special MS and offers a 1 1/2- or 2-year curriculum with concentrations in the functional areas of management.

Dean John Day founds the Dean's Advisory Council with eight corporate executives. Clifton Cox, president of Armour Foods, is the chairman.

The Executive in the Classroom lecture series, later renamed the Krannert Executive Forum, is initiated. Top-level corporate officers, many from Krannert Associates, join undergraduates in weekly discussions about business issues.


Ellnora Krannert

The Credit Research Center is founded with Professor Robert W. Johnson as director. CRC is a unique nonprofit organization engaged in research on public policy as it relates to consumer mortgage credit markets. The Center's research findings are used by regulatory agencies, legislatures, consumer groups and the courts.

Ellnora Krannert (right) dies.

Frank M. Bass is appointed Loeb Distinguished Professor of Management

The Dean's Advisory Council grows to 11 members.


The Purdue University President's Council proposes the Chair of Private Enterprise for the School of Industrial Management. James F. Bere, chairman and chief executive officer of Borg-Warner Corporation, delivers the first Distinguished Executive Lecture to entering master's students.


The Purdue University Board of Trustees approves the change in the name of the schools to the Krannert Graduate School of Management and School of Management.

The Information Privacy Center is created with Jack L. Osborn as director; the school initiates the Executive in Residence program with James R. Deters, controller for Borg-Warner Corp.

The Krannert Graduate School joins other University departments in servicing a new master's degree program in public policy and public administration. The alumni foundation board expands from three to nine members.

The faculty grows to more than 85 full-time and part-time professors and lecturers.

An accounting option designed by Professor Charles Lawrence is introduced in the undergraduate program.

A total of 150 men and 47 women enter the MSIA and MS in management programs for fall semester. The first special July commencement is held for MSIA and MS graduates.

A proposal and sketch is developed for a new building for executive education.


Dean John Day serves as president of the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business. Krannert Graduate School of Management programs are ranked fourth in the nation among public business schools.

Major remodeling begins in the basement of Krannert Building to accommodate new staff offices.


A symposium held on two days in January honors Emanuel Weiler for his 25 years at Purdue. Lynn L. Bollinger becomes the first holder of the Burton D. Morgan Chair of Private Enterprise. Professor Gordon P. Wright is director of master's programs.

John Day resigns the deanship to assume duties as Purdue's vice president of development. Professor Wilbur Lewellen is named acting dean.


Founding Dean Emanuel Weiler dies on July 1. Keith V. Smith, the first alumnus to head the school (PhD 1966), is appointed Krannert's third dean. He has been associate dean at UCLA's graduate school of business. Professor Gordon P. Wright is named associate dean. Professor Randall L. Schultz resumes the position of master's program director.

The first Emanuel Thornton Weiler Outstanding Student Award is presented to John M. Corbett for his academic performance in the undergraduate management program.

The Krannert Alumni Foundation initiates the Distinguished Alumnus Award to be presented at July Graduation; the first recipient is Norman R. Weldon, MSIA 1962, PhD 1964.